Scottish Bundesliga fans: Hamburg SV

Posted on July 6, 2011

1


In the second part of our interviews with UK-based Bundesliga fans, we look at the interesting and strong bond between supporters of Hamburg SV and Rangers.

I caught up with David Foster from Hamburg-Rangers, a website dedicated to providing English updates on Hamburg and German news from Rangers, to discuss a bit more about the group and why there is such a good relationship between the two clubs.

Q: “Firstly, can you let me know a little bit about the HSV/Rangers supporters group and who is involved?”

A: “Two guys, David from Glasgow and Bjorn from Hamburg run the blog site,

“The vision is to create a unique site dedicated to keeping the German Hamburg fans informed of big stories about Rangers (translated into German) and vice vers,

“We aim to build on the fantastic rapport that exists between the two sets of supporters – whilst sharing video clips of goals, match action shots and other relevant tidbits in an easily accessible way. We feel that there isn’t a good platform for this currently in existence, and perhaps our efforts can save our friends time when seeing to remain updated on the other team.”

Q: “What attracted you to being an HSV fan?

A: “Rather coincidentally my girlfriend was visiting Germany with a friend and on the off chance i asked for a hamburg top. I think it was to do with the whole connection due to Jorg Albertz, who was a real favorite player for me back in the day.

“A few years back my friend told me about a bus trip organised by the Glaswegian Pub going to Manchester for the Man City HSV uefa cup match,

“A bus lot of us went and it just so happened we met up with some Hamburg fans after a few beers and struck up a nice friendship before and after the game. Since then through that friendship I have watched Hamburg play at home, and away to Celtic and Fulham in the europa league.”

 Q: What’s your hopes for next season?

A: “For super ally to continue on from Sir Walter and for rangers  to continue to develop more young stars of the future mixed in with some SPL talent like Goodwillie.

“For Hamburg i hope that under Frank Arnesen the club can start over. It seems to me that the fans are let down by players that don’t play for the jersey. I’d like for them to shed players without heart and to rebuild for the future.

“Hamburg should be challenging for the title – simply due to the size and magnitude of the club. I sincerely hope the fortunes change next season but it will be a massive summer of change.”

Q: Favourite HSV moment as a fan?

A: “Watching HSV in the Imtech, just before the match outside the ground I received news of Rangers scoring in the 94th minute to beat Hearts.

“I jumped about wildly celebrating and once my friend had explained to everyone why – the acts of friendship and kindness towards me as a Rangers fan lasted all day. People bought me pints, shook my hand and thanked me for my support.”

Q: Favourite Rangers moment as a fan?

A: “A toss up between being at parkhead witnessing mccoist score one of his final goals in the famous cup semi versus Celtic, and also that Uefa cup semi final night – watching Nacho score the winning penalty was just fantastic viewing.”

Hamburg-Rangers Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Hamburg-Rangers/122008757870567

Hamburg-Rangers Website: http://www.hamburg-rangers.co.uk/

Posted in: Feature